top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCassie Bauer

First Day Jitters!

With being able to establish my field, I hope not to only study for the rest of the ISM year but hopefully in the future. Psychology comes straight to mind; the area I've chosen to look more into is Psychiatry. Although I know very little about the overview of my career, I never realized all of the complexities and certifications necessary for my future profession after researching a little deeper into my field. Reading the article entitled "old job outlook for becoming a Psychiatrist" Help me develop more knowledge and help understand the demands of the job and the career and the total Outlook salary and some terminology and just psychology and just Psychiatry as a whole. The most fundamental aspect of psychology covered in the article, which goes over the main job description and demands that come with it, truly interests me about the topic. It is the combination of medicine and learning the human brain, which I find very interesting as it surprises me to know that the training and schooling take longer than eight years. My previous understanding was that it took much longer. I still seem to be asking myself what the workplace atmosphere is like, and is it more of a one on one or independent? I have learned a lot about the education that is required, which is quite Daunting. It takes four years to get a bachelor's degree in Psychology, an undergraduate level degree. When receiving a master's degree, it takes at most two to three years. When receiving your doctorate, this process takes around four to seven years. Training and earning your License takes two years. Although it is quite a long distance to embark on, I think about my current education. I genuinely am setting myself up for success, with two years of Med term and a third on the way, and several science classes, all of which have been Bauer 2 successful. I hope that will aid me by helping me earn my bachelor's in psychology. From the way they're setting me up for my medical school, this leads me to my next question; when it comes to med school, residency, and my fellowship, is there a specific program that will allow me to continue throughout the same med school system for all of them? I will have to gain more knowledge by asking and researching. When it comes to the paychecks portion, psychologists make around $204,950 since2016; and have gone up in most recent years. With that said, they make pretty good money. The profession makes well above a lot of other professional averages salaries. entry-level positions pay less than that, thankfully meaning that Financial Security wouldn't be a primary concern. One thing that stood out to me was that Texas has one of the lowest salaries compared to Maryland and New York, which is somewhat the highest rate relating to psychology salaries. Despite my overall total understanding of psychology, throughout this research assessment, I do feel more in-depth knowledge of my topic; obviously, I need to look more into psychology, not just overall Outlook but slightly deeper into each area topic. As I continue my search for a mentor as of right now, I would keep the focus on psychology and learning and gaining more knowledge and not just understanding the demands mentally but also physically and educationally. I know that this is a very complex area of the field and will take a great deal of research and study. Still, I am happy to say I am very excited to bring these challenges and get more educated on my topic study topic.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page